Welcome to Brygga restaurant
A Restaurant and Bed & Breakfast located at Å in Lofoten - one of Norways best preserved and most complete Fishing Villages. Welcome to a historical, authentic and memorable experience in amazing surroundings. Perfect for both individuals and groups and a great venue for Meetings, Weddings and other Events. Spend the night in our cosy Rooms with roof windows. Enjoy our menu based on local flavours in our wonderful restaurant, located on stilts in the Lofoten sea. Continue to read to find out more about the exciting history of The Ellingsen family who built up Å as a Fishing Village from the mid of the 19th Century.
Meet our amazing team, working hard to make guests feel welcome and get a nice dining experience while visiting Brygga restaurant.
Meet Jessica. She is responsible for the day to day management of Brygga restaurant. Jessica is from Sweden, but has fallen heads over heels in love with the beautiful nature and the wonderful people in Lofoten. With a great service attitude, attentiveness and lots of charm, Jessica welcomes guests to Brygga restaurant.
Meet Ali the Restaurant Manager. Ali is from Turkey, where he has worked as restaurant manager and hotel manager at several hotels. Staying and working in Lofoten is a dream come through for Ali. A high level of service, a welcoming atmosphere and a great sense of humor is what guests can expect, meeting Ali at Brygga restaurant.
Meet Lukasz, the Head Chef at Brygga. Lukasz has over 12 years experience as a chef and has worked as sous chef for a fine dining (Michelin restaurant) in London, as well as in several great restaurants in Norther Norway (Du Verden Svolvær, De 4 roser Tromsø and Gammelbua Reine). His big passion is food and working with sea food especially.
The Kings of the Cape
The men who owned the land on which the fishermen’s shacks stood, were also called Kings of the Cape. The same landowners controlled the fishing rights in the sea near the fishing villages from 1816 (according to the Lofotlaw). These men were known to be some of the most powerful men in the regions they had ownership. In 1843 Johan Ellingsen came to Å to marry Margrethe Sophie Kibsgaard, who had inherited the Fishing Village of Å from her foster father Christian Maas. Johan Ellingsen originally came from Hustad in Lødingen, and was known to be an especially competent sailor, after a rescue action at Hustadvika during a storm. Johan and Margrethe had ten children, but only three grew up in the small house he built just after they got married. No pictures of this house exists.
In 1962 Christian Peder passed away and his son Sigurd Halvdan took over. Borghild Marie, his wife, was a talented wood carver and during their engagement, she carved out the entire dining room furniture, which is still located in The Main House at Å.
Sigurd Halvdan was during his period as King of the Cape, the builder and architect behind rebuilding projects, as well as new buildings. He was also a dedicated member of the society and was mayor and politically active for a period of time. Within 1941, when he passed away, The Main House at Å, was known as one to be one of the most beautiful and nices homes in Lofoten, with its traditional style and artworks.
Ellingsen built The Main House in 1864, where he lived with his wife and three children, as well as his staff and servants. The house still exists today. In 1876 Christian Peder, the son of Johan, took over, and in 1880 he gained the rights to export directly to the foreign market. The Main House was rebuilt and finished in 1896. Ellingsen also built a new house (still exisiting) nearby, as his son Sigurd Halvdan was getting married and they needed more space. Both The Main House and the new house is still within ownership of the Ellingsen family. The Bakery was also built around 1896 and is today ran by The Norwegian Fishing Village Museum. The Bakery is still in use during high season and is today known to produce the best cinnamon buns in Lofoten.
Brygga restaurant was relocated to Å in 1954 and was used as a fish landing and stockfish-storage by Ellingsen family. This is a former wharf and fish landing with history back to the 19th century. It was rebuilt at first in Hell, south of Moskenes island, where it was located until 1954. Today Brygga restaurant houses a wonderful fine dining restaurant with window tables offering a spectacular sea view, a cosy bistro and bar, meeting facilities and 11 pleasant twin rooms with roof windows. Maximum capacity for lunch is 200 persons, and for dinner 90 persons. Here companies and private groups, can host anything from a meeting to events for up to 50 persons, in our charing chambre separee on the second floor. Guests can enjoy a panorama view of the sea and fisherman cabins.